Fellowships of Science Academies

Indian National Science Academy, 1977

U.S. National Academy of Sciences, 1989

Academy of Sciences for Developing World, 1990

Indian Academy of Sciences, 1991

Royal Society of London, 1995

Russian Academy of Sciences, 1995

Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2002

National Academy of Sciences, India, 2003

Honorary Doctorate Degrees

Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab, India, 1987

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore,  India,  1995

C.S. Azad University of Agriculture and Technology,  Kanpur,  India, 1995

G. B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pant Nagar, India, 1996

De Montfort University,  Leicester, United Kingdom, 1998

Assam Agriculture University,  Jorhat,  India, 2000

Cambridge University,  Cambridge, United Kingdom, 2000

N.D. University of Agriculture and Technology, Faizabad,  India, 2003

Ohio State University,  Columbus, Ohio, USA, 2006

Guru Nanak Dev University,  Amritsar, Punjab, India, 2007

Jawahar Lal Nehru Agricultural University,  Jabalpur, India, 2010

Indira Gandhi Agricultural University,  Raipur, India, 2012

Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya,  Mohanpur, India, 2013

Indian Agricultural Research Institute,  New Delhi, India, 2014

McGill University, Montreal,  Canada, 2014

Panjab University,  Chandigarh, India,  2017

International Awards

Japan Prize, Science and Technology Foundation of Japan, 1987

International Agronomy Award, American Society of Agronomy, 1989

World Food Prize,  World Food Prize Foundation,  USA, 1996

Rank Prize,  Rank Prize Foundation, UK, 1998

Medal for the "Cause of Agriculture and Rural Development" Government of Vietnam, 1998

Friendship Award, Government of China, 1999

Wolf Prize in Agriculture, Wolf Prize Foundation, Israel, 2000

International Scientific and Technological Co-operative Award, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of China, 2001

International Khwarizmi Award,  Science and Technology  Organization of Iran,  2004

Golden Sickle Award,  Biotech,Thailand, 2007

Mahathir Science Award,  Academy of Sciences, Malaysia, 2009